Writing Life

For What It’s Worth

Day 27: Which popular notion do you think the world has most wrong?

It is difficult to pinpoint just one thing that the world has gotten wrong, it seems as if the world has gone crazy lately. If I had to choose, I would say that it would be that when you disagree with someone’s opinion, you feel that you have the right to argue your point or call them names. The especially irritates me with people who are constantly in other people’s business, particularly when they have no idea what they are talking about. There are many different types of people, so it stands to reason that there are many different points of view. I think that most people feel like things have to be either black or white, and that there is no gray area with certain topics. For example, abortion, pro-choice people want to paint the pro-life side as a bunch of bible thumping, hateful people, who could care less about women’s rights. On the other side of this argument, the pro-life side, seems to portray the pro-choice side as a bunch of feminists, who want to see babies butchered (I too find myself guilty of thinking this way from time to time). In any case, I don’t think either side is 100% right, I am pro-life, I do not believe that abortion should be used as a form of birth control, or that tax money should go to paying for them when used in this way. On the other hand, I believe in a woman’s right to choose, therefor, if she had no choice in the making of the child (ie: rape) I feel that she should have every right to terminate the pregnancy. Although I do not support abortion as a form of birth control, people very close to me have terminated pregnancies in this way, and I feel no differently toward them for it. I also happen to know that they regret it and it’s something that they live with day after day, who am I to judge them?

Perhaps the biggest controversies lie in choices people make as parents, and other parents who need to stroke their own egos by criticizing these choices. Just look at Facebook, or other blogs, people are constantly putting others down, in an effort to raise themselves up. There is always that one parent in the comment section, the one who masks their cutting remark by pretending to give advice, it doesn’t make you a better parent to tell someone what they are doing wrong. If someone asks advice on Facebook, I give it, but only if I have experienced whatever they are asking about. If I have unwarranted advice, I private message that shit, and I always preface it with “I saw your post about ____, you seemed pretty stressed out about it, Juliana did that for a while, I’m not sure if you have tried _____ but it worked for me, of course every child is different…” I have made 0 enemies this way, in fact, I have made friends that I never thought I would have. Parenthood is hard, it really does take a village, and it’s not that people don’t want your advice, they just don’t want it with a side of bitchiness. Somewhere along the line, we have gotten the idea that calling someone ugly will make us prettier, and that’s just untrue. There are people abusing, neglecting, molesting, and killing their children every day, why do we choose to pick on the people who are actually trying to be good parents?

To conclude, why are we spending so much time arguing our opinion with people who probably won’t change their opinions just because we made a few valid points? Calling someone intolerant, due to their opposition of same-sex marriage is not going to make them magically change their minds, in fact most people who strongly oppose same-sex marriage do so because of a strong religious belief, and that’s not likely to change. Standing outside of an abortion clinic isn’t going to bring any of those babies back, but being there for a person who’s just made a decision that will stay with them forever could save that person’s life. Last, there is no right way or wrong way to parent a child, as long as you’re doing it out of love.

2 comments on “For What It’s Worth

  1. Skydreamer
    May 27, 2015

    Absolutely agree with this!

    Like

    • Lyndsi
      May 27, 2015

      Thanks! Honestly, the world would be so much better if people were nicer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow Writing Life on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

About Me

Lyndsi

Lyndsi

I am a married mother of 1. I work as a stylist during the day, and at night I care for my toddler and husband. In my household, I work to create a balance between ancient methods of self care and the more convenient methods of today.

View Full Profile →

Blog Stats

  • 2,691 hits
